Free Case Review


       
       
       
                    What Happened:
     
                   * Required Fields
captcha
   
                   Strictly Confidential
 
Free Lemon Law Book

Avoid the 5 Deadly Mistakes that will Kill Your Case, click icon below:

Free book


State by State Summaries of Lemon Laws

State Vehicle Coverage Repair Presumption or Qualifications Presumption Period or Repair Period
All StatesConsumers everywhere are protected by the Federal Lemon Law which applies to all consumer products, including automoblile, trucks, motorcycles, RVs, boats, and all other ordinary consumer products including computers and household appliances. 3 to 4 repairs for the same problem, or 6 to 8 repairs to the entire product during the warranty period. Warranty period + up to 4 additional years.
AlabamaEvery vehicle intended primarily for use and operation on the public highways which is self-propelled. Excludes motor homes or any vehicle with a GVW of 10,000 pounds or more.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.1 year or 12,000 miles
AlaskaAny land vehicle having four or more wheels, that is self-propelled by a motor, is normally used for personal, family, or household purposes, and is required to be registered. Does not include a tractor, farm vehicle, or a vehicle designed primarily for off-road use.3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
ArizonaA self-propelled vehicle designated primarily for the transportation of persons or property over the public highways. Only the chassis portion of a motor home is covered.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.Warranty period, 2 years or 24,000 miles.
ArkansasAny self-propelled vehicle licensed, purchased, or leased and primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over the public streets and highways, but does not include mopeds, motorcycles, the living facilities of a motor home, or vehicles over 10,000 pounds GVW. The 10,000 pound limit does not apply to motor homes.1 repair attempt for a defect that might cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts for the same defect or 5 repair attempts for separate problems, or 30 calendar days out of service.2 years or 24,000 miles.
CaliforniaA new motor vehicle that is used or bought for use primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. Includes the chassis portion of motor homes.2 repair attempts for a defect that might cause death or serious injury or 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.18 months or 18,000 miles.
ColoradoA self-propelled private passenger vehicle, including pickup trucks and vans, designed primarily for travel on the public highways and used to carry not more than 10 persons. Excludes motor homes and motorcycles.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
ConnecticutPassenger and commercial motor vehicles.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.2 years or 18,000 miles.
DelawarePassenger motor vehicles. Does not include motor homes (other than the chassis) or motorcycles.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
District of ColumbiaAny vehicle sold or registered that is designed for transporting persons. Excludes buses, motorcycles, motor homes and recreational vehicles.4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service.2 years or 18,000 miles.
FloridaA new vehicle that is purchased or leased primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. Does not include vehicles run only on tracks, off-road vehicles, trucks over ten thousand pounds gross weight, the living facilities of recreational vehicles or motorcycles or mopeds.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.24 months.
GeorgiaAny self-propelled vehicle, primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over the public highways, that was leased, purchased or registered. Applies only to the chassis portion of motor homes. Does not include motorcycles or trucks with 10,000 pounds or more GVW.1 repair attempt in the braking or steering system or 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service for other problems.1 year or 12,000 miles.
HawaiiA self-propelled vehicle primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over public streets and highways which is used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes. Does not include mopeds, motorcycles, or motor scooters, or vehicles over 10,000 pounds GVW.1 repair attempt for a defect that might cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period, 2 years or 24,000 miles.
IdahoA new motor vehicle used for personal business use or personal, family or household purposes. Does not include a motorcycle, farm tractor, trailer or any motor vehicle with a gross laden weight over 12,000 pounds.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period, 2 years or 24,000 miles.
IllinoisNew cars. Light trucks and vans under 8,000 pounds. Recreational vehicles excluding trailers. Excludes motorcycles.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.1 year or 12,000 miles.
IndianaAny self-propelled vehicle that has a declared gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds and is intended primarily for use and operation on public highways. Does not include conversion vans, motor homes, farm machinery, motorcycles, mopeds, snowmobiles, or vehicles designed primarily for offroad use.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.18 months or 18,000 miles.
IowaA self-propelled vehicle purchased or leased and primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over public streets and highways, but does not include mopeds, motorcycles, motor homes, or vehicles over ten thousand pounds GVW.1 repair attempt for a defect that might cause death or serious injury or 3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service for other problems.2 years or 24,000 miles.
KansasA new motor vehicle which is sold or leased, and which is registered for a gross weight of 12,000 pounds or less. Does not include the customized parts of motor vehicles which have been added or modified by second stage manufacturers, first stage converters or second stage converters.4 repair attempts for the same defect, or 10 repair attempts for seperate problems or 30 calendar days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
KentuckyAll vehicles except conversion vans, motor homes, mopeds, motorcycles, farm machinery and vehicles with more than 2 axles.4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service.1 year or 12,000 miles.
LouisianaAll vehicles under 10,000 pounds except motor homes, motorcycles, and vehicles used for commercial purposes only.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
MaineAny vehicle purchased or leased. Excludes commercial vehicles over 8,000 pounds.3 repair attempts or 15 business days out of service2 years or 18,000 miles.
MarylandAny passenger car or truck with a rated capacity of 1 ton or less.1 repair attempt in the braking or steering system or 4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service for other problems.15 months or 15,000 miles. 12 months or 12,000 miles for leased vehicles.
MassachusettsAll vehicles, except off-road vehicles, motor homes, motorcycles, and vehicles used for commercial purposes.3 repair attempts or 15 business days out of service.1 year or 15,000 miles.
MichiganAny new car, van or truck bought by a resident of Michigan for personal or family use.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of serviceWarranty period or 1 year.
MinnesotaA new motor vehicle used for personal, family, or household purposes at least 40 percent of the time.1 repair attempt in the braking or steering system or 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service for other problems.Warranty period or 2 years.
MississippiVehicles used primarily for personal, family or household purposes. Excludes off-road vehicles, mopeds, motorcycles. Includes motor home chassis.3 repair attempts or 15 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
MissouriA new motor vehicle, primarily used for personal, family, or household purposes. Does not include commercial vehicles, off-road vehicles, mopeds, motorcycles or recreational vehicles.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
MontanaAny vehicle, including the nonresidential portion of a motor home, propelled by its own power, designed primarily to transport persons or property upon the public highways. Does not include trucks with 10,000 pounds or more GVW or motorcycles.Any vehicle, including the nonresidential portion of a motor home, propelled by its own power, designed primarily to transport persons or property upon the public highways. Does not include trucks with 10,000 pounds or more GVW or motorcycles. 4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service2 years or 18,000 miles.
NebraskaA new motor vehicle normally used for personal, family, household, or business purposes, excluding motor homes.4 repair attempts or 40 days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
NevadaA new motor vehicle normally used for personal, family or household purposes, except a motor home or off-road vehicle.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
New HampshireAny 4-wheel motor vehicle with a gross weight not exceeding 9,000 pounds. Also includes off highway recreational vehicles, mopeds and motorcycles.3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of serviceWarranty period *plus* 1 year.
New JerseyPassenger automobiles and motorcycles. Includes the non-living portions of motor homes.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.2 years or 18,000 miles.
New MexicoA passenger motor vehicle including an automobile, pickup truck, motorcycle or van normally used for personal, family or household purposes with a gross vehicle weight less than 10,000 pounds.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
New YorkAny non-commercial motor vehicle purchased or leased, except for motorcycles, certain motor homes, and off-road vehicles.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.2 years or 18,000 miles.
North CarolinaAny new motor vehicle other than a house trailer, provided that the vehicle does not have a gross vehicle weight of 10,000 pounds or more. This includes pickup trucks, motorcycles and most vans.4 repair attempts or more than 20 days out of service during any 12 month period.2 years or 24,000 miles.
North DakotaPassenger motor vehicles and trucks 10,000 pounds GVW or less, normally used for personal, family or household purposes.3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
OhioPassenger car, light truck (no more than one ton load capacity and not used in business), or motorcycle. Also includes chassis portion of motor homes.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 8 repair attempts for different problems. 1 attempt to repair condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury.1 year or 18,000 miles.
OklahomaAny motor driven vehicle required to be registered, excluding vehicles above 10,000 pounds GVW and the living facilities of motor homes.4 repair attempts or 45 days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
OregonA new motor vehicle normally used for personal, family or household purposes.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.1 year or 12,000 miles.
PennsylvaniaVehicles used primarily for personal, family or household purposes except motor homes, motorcycles, and off-road vehicles.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of serviceWarranty period, 1 year or 12,000 miles.
Rhode IslandAn automobile, truck, motorcycle, or van having a gross vehicle weight of less than 10,000 pounds.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service1 year or 15,000 miles.
South CarolinaPassenger motor vehicles including cars, vans, and small trucks.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service1 year or 12,000 miles.
South DakotaAll vehicles intended primarily for use and operation on the public highways which is self-propelled. Does not include motor homes or vehicles with a GVW of 10,000 pounds or more.4 repair attempts plus 1 final attempt.1 year or 12,000 miles.
TennesseeAny motor vehicle not including motorized bicycles, motor homes, recreational vehicles or off-road vehicles and vehicles over 10,000 pounds GVW.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of serviceWarranty period or 1 year.
TexasNew vehicles, including cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles, all-terrain vehicles, motor homes and towable recreational vehicles.4 repair attempts or 30 days out of service. 2 repair attempts for a serious safety hazard.Warranty period or 1 year.
UtahA car or truck weighing less than 12,000 pounds, or a motor home.4 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service.Warranty period or 1 year.
VermontPassenger motor vehicles and trucks under 10,000 pounds GVW. Does not include snowmobiles, motorcycles, mopeds, or the living portion of recreational vehicles.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service.Warranty period.
VirginiaA motor vehicle used in substantial part for personal, family, or household purposes.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 1 repair attempt for a serious safety defect.18 months.
WashingtonAny new self-propelled vehicle, including a new motorcycle, primarily designed for the transportation of persons or property over the public highways. Does not include living portions of motor homes or trucks with 19,000 or more GVW.4 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 2 attempts for a serious safety defect.2 years or 24,000 miles.
West VirginiaPassenger vehicles, pickup trucks, vans and motor home chassis used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes.3 repair attempts or 30 calendar days out of service. 1 attempt for a condition likely to cause death or serious bodily injury.Warranty period or 1 year.
WisconsinAll vehicles except mopeds, semi-trailers or trailers designed for use in combination with a truck or truck tractor.4 repair attempts or 30 days out of serviceWarranty period or 1 year.
WyomingAll vehicles under 10,000 lbs. GVW.3 repair attempts or 30 business days out of service1 year.


Speak to a Lawyer Now!